Fruit Curds Revisited

2013-12-02 22.14.04

By recent request, I have written another post on fruit curds. I have come up with several more recipes since I wrote the original post and they all originate from a common source; a single recipe that pops up in River Cottage Handbook No.2: Preserves by Pam ‘the Jam’ Corbin. This is a truly excellent book (as are all the RC Handbooks), that deserves a post of its own as part of my rather irregular Favourite Cookbooks series.

Anyway, this recipe is the best I’ve come across, it is for lemon and Bramley apple curd – and it is ripe for modification. Apple purée is used, giving a great texture, making a light nicely-set curd that needs less sugar than your typical lemon curd. Below is the original recipe that I have only very slightly tweaked, and then there is a few more: blood orange, spiced orange and pink grapefruit.

Lemon and Bramley Apple Curd

This recipe makes around 1200ml of curd.

2013-12-01 18.09.14

500g Bramley apple curd, peeled, cored and chopped

150ml water

Zest and juice of 2 lemons

125g butter, cubed

350-400g granulated sugar

5 medium eggs

Put the apples and water in a small saucepan, cover and simmer until the apples break down into a purée. When cooked, put them into a large glass mixing bowl with all of the remaining ingredients except the eggs. Mix together – the heat of apples will dissolve the sugar and begin to melt the butter – and place the bowl atop a pan of briskly simmering water, making sure the water doesn’t touch the base of the bowl.

Whisk the eggs well and pass them through a sieve straight into the mixture, stirring them in well. Keep an eye on things and stir the curd frequently until it thickens; it doesn’t require constant stirring, but don’t be going off and dusting the sills. If you want to be scientific about it, eggs thicken at around 80⁰C, but temperatures of 75⁰C and above will thicken the curd sufficiently. Taste and add more sugar if liked – remembering that cold curd will taste much less sweet than hot curd.

2013-12-01 18.35.17

Pot in sterilised jars (25 minutes in a 125⁰C oven does the trick), cool and refrigerate. The curd will keep for 5 weeks.

Some variations

You can pretty much use any fruit juice you like, but you always need a little bit of lemon to add bite as well as to take advantage of its flavour enhancing properties.

Blood orange curd: as above but use the juice and zest of one lemon and two blood oranges.

Spiced orange curd: use the juice and zest of two lemons and two oranges, along with half a teaspoon of mixed spice. When the curd has thickened, add two teaspoons of orange flower water.

Pink grapefruit curd: use the juice and zest one lemon and two pink grapefruits.


If you like the blogs and podcast I produce, please consider treating me to a virtual coffee or pint, or even a £3 monthly subscription: follow this link for more information.


12 Comments

Filed under baking, cooking, food, Fruit, General, Recipes, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Fruit Curds Revisited

  1. Pingback: Fruit curd | British Food: A History

  2. I adore the British fruit curds. But I must admit I make them with as little sugar as I can get away with. I find stevia works nicely in curd recipes and in other custards, as well. However, I do use a little sweetener (maple syrup perhaps) to make sure there isn’t a sharp aftertaste of any kind. Love your blog

    Like

  3. Kitchen-Counter-Culture

    Thank you! Your pink grapefruit is next for me…
    I wrote about blackberry curd here: http://kitchencounterculture121.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/blackberries/

    Like

    • Blackberry curd! Why has that never occurred to me before!?

      I am going to do lots of experimenting with fruit curds over the next few weeks. I’ll try and blog them. I’ll definitely tweet about them!

      Like

      • Kitchen-Counter-Culture

        Rhubarb curd is a nice one for you to try when they start to pop out of the ground, and a gorgeous colour too…. Have fun! I will follow…

        Like

      • I have rhubarb in the allotment, so I’ll definitely be giving that a go! Thank you!

        Like

  4. Do you think the granulated sugar could be substituted for brown to give it more of a toffee apple flavour?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.